Juvenile Traffic Court
Juvenile Traffic Court is held on Mondays at 3:30 p.m. Appearance is mandatory for all juveniles issued a citation. Following the issuance of a citation, Juvenile Court will send you notice of the date and time you must appear for court.
All juveniles must appear with a parent or guardian. You may appear by yourself if you turned 18 following the issuance of the citation. If you are unable to appear in Court on the date and time indicated on the letter you receive from the Court, you may request a continuance by phone at (775) 887-2038. Failure to appear or pay your citation may result in additional fines and other sanctions. Additionally, your license or right to apply for a driver license may be suspended by the Department of Motor Vehicles.
Juvenile Traffic Court Procedures:
At traffic court you are advised of your rights and the charges against you. If you plead “guilty” or “nolo contendere” (no contest), penalties will be imposed at that time. If you plead not guilty, the matter will be set for a pretrial conference with the District Attorney’s Office following your arraignment. If you have been involved in an accident and enter a plea of not guilty, your case will be set for trial. If you are charged with having no proof insurance, unregistered vehicle, or no valid driver’s license and you now have the required documentation, be prepared to present it to the Court.
Court Option Program:
Participation in the DRIVE Program or a Traffic Safety School is available for Nevada licensed drivers once in a 12 month period, if the citation you received did not involve an accident and the demerits for the charge are 4 points or less.
If you live in another state and you received your citation in Carson City you can be required by the Court to take a Nevada certified traffic school.
For a list of certified traffic safety schools you may contact the Department of Motor Vehicles at http://www.dmvnv.com/nvdl.htm, or the Court at (775) 887-2038.
Please visit http://www.driversedge.com/ for information taught behind the wheel and in the classroom.
Fines & Fees:
You may pay your fine in person or by mail. We accept cash, check, money order, Visa, and Mastercard. There is a $2.50 convenience fee charge with Visa and Mastercard payments. Please make checks payable to Carson City. Do not send cash in the mail.
Community service may be ordered in lieu of, or in addition to, fines and fees. This must be completed with a non-profit organization or under the supervision of the Juvenile Probation Department.
Juvenile Traffic Forms:
Community Service List
Community Service Log
Court Option Program