WHO MAY MARRY?
Persons at least 18 years of age, not nearer of kin than second cousins or cousins of the half blood, and not having a living spouse, may be joined in marriage. Both parties must appear at the Marriage License Bureau.
DO WE NEED A BLOOD TEST?
Blood tests are not required in Nevada, and there is no waiting period.
WHAT SHOULD WE BRING FOR IDENTIFICATION?
Proof of age and name are required before issuing a marriage license (NRS 122.040(2)). Acceptable identification must contain the applicant's photo. The photo must be a sufficiently recent, clear likeness of the applicant.
Forms of ID would be a valid Driver's License, a valid Identification Card from DMV, a valid Passport, a Certified or original Birth Certificate with Photo ID. We cannot accept ID's that have been hole punched by DMV.
WHAT IF I'M DIVORCED?
You do not need to bring your divorce papers, however, if you have been divorced or your previous marriage has been annulled, the divorce or annulment must be final in the state where granted. You must know the year of the divorce or annulment and where the papers were filed.
WHAT IF I AM NOT 18?
Persons 16 years of age but less than 18 years of age may marry only if the person has the consent of at least one parent (both parents are desirable) or legal guardian(s).
At least one parent or legal guardian must be present while minor is obtaining the marriage license. Persons signing as legal guardians must furnish a certified court order showing proof of full legal guardianship to satisfaction of the Clerk. (No photocopies of documents maybe accepted)
Minors will need an original or certified copy of the birth certificate which lists the name of the consenting parent(s). (no photocopies maybe accepted)
AM I MARRIED AFTER I RECEIVE MY LICENSE?
To be legally married, a marriage ceremony must be performed by AN AUTHORIZED PERSON to perform a marriage in the State of Nevada. Your options are:
- Wedding Chapels
- Independent authorized wedding officiants
- Notary Public
- Commissioner of Civil Marriages or Justice of the Peace
- Military Chaplain
One witness to the marriage ceremony is required by law. Brochures and business cards of various officiants are available in the courthouse hallway for your selection.
A marriage license issued in the State of Nevada may be used anywhere within Nevada. If a Nevada license is used anywhere other than Nevada, the ceremony and marriage are not legal. A marriage performed in Nevada with a Nevada license is a legal marriage.
HOW DO I GET CERTIFIED COPIES OF MY MARRIAGE APPLICATION AND/OR CERTIFICATE?
If the license was purchased in Carson City, you may obtain a certified copy of a recorded marriage certificate. Please allow two weeks for your certified copy to arrive. All orders are returned via U.S. Postal Service.
In Person: We are located in the Carson City Courthouse, 1st floor. Our address is 885 E. Musser Street, Suite 1025, Carson City. Our hours are 8 AM to 5 PM Monday thru Friday and 10AM to 2PM on Saturdays and selected holidays.
By Online Payment: Go to our online Marriage License Payment Form, fill in all the fields, pay by credit card or electronic check; and then verify you received a confirmation to your email address. Your certified copy will be mailed to you within 3-4 days.
By Telephone with Credit Card (VISA or MC only): Call 775-887-2084 during regular business hours. A transaction fee of 3% of total purchase will be added to the credit card order.
- Certified copy of the marriage application $7.00
- Certified copy of the marriage certificate $15.00
- A plain copy of the marriage application $0.50
- A plain copy of the marriage certificate $1.00
Cash, Money orders or Cashier's Checks only, no personal checks. Make checks payable to Carson City Marriages.
WHERE IS THE CARSON CITY MARRIAGE BUREAU?
- Carson City Court House
- 885 East Musser Street, Suite 1025, 1st Floor
- Carson City, NV 89701
Hours: Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 5:00 pm. Saturday and holiday hours are 10:00 am to 2:00 pm.
LOCATION OF OFFICE: MAP